Sleigh Bells in Paris

I like music. A lot of people like music, true, but I do a lot with music at Bates through WRBC, Bates’ own student-run radio station. As you can imagine, I am one of those students that run it. I’m specifically the publicity director for WRBC, but we all help out on all sorts of aspects to help with upkeep and running of the station. So in addition to planning, publicizing and rocking out at cool concerts, I also get to spend two hours a week in the station broadcasting a live radio show. We are sent new music before it comes out, and have rooms upon rooms of CDs for all the DJs to check out. This is definitely something I’m missing while in Paris. Anyways, like I said, I like music. I tend to see as many concerts as possible– in high school, being so close to Boston made this very easy. I saw my fair share of awesome basement indie shows before I even turned 18. Since moving to Maine, though, there’s been a bunch of shows that my friends and I have deemed “worth it” enough to jump in a car and drive somewhere for a night. Those have been some of my favorite memories– Animal Collective in Boston (Freshman short term), Grizzly bear at Skidmore college (sophomore fall), Major Lazer and Rusko and DING DING Sleigh Bells in Cambridge (sophomore spring), to name a few.

Last spring I saw the male female duo Sleigh Bells perform twice– the first time, opening for Major Lazer in a tiny basement venue “the middle east” that I frequented in my high school days, and the second, when they opened for Yeasayer at the paradise. Therefore, it would be accurate to say that I am a fan of said musical act. They are LOUD they are UNAPOLOGETIC and just so COOL! It’s hard to put it into words, but if you ever get a chance to see them in concert, GO!!!

So, I got another chance to see them and concert. And what do you think I did? Obviously, I went. I convinced three of my friends from my program to come, but they weren’t as familiar with the band as I was, but very willing to check it out. Beforehand, we went out for burgers at Breakfast in America . And no, we don’t regret it. I got a milkshake!

And it was delicious.

The venue for the show was really cool– a little hard to find but cozy and intimate. My only complaint was that I hadn’t anticipated a lack of coat check. I ended up having to carry my big wool peacoat around the whole night. The openers were cool– knight riders, though we arrived in the middle of their set and weren’t paying much attention. Here’s a shot from their performance:

My photos from Sleigh Bells themselves came out fuzzier, not as clear. I attribute this to the fact that I was dancing my butt off, also perhaps because the entire room was in such an indescribable state of euphoria that it could not be captured accurately by the camera. In any case, what a great Tuesday night.

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

