Fall Break

October break– what a lovely set of foliage filled days where Batesies can relax post-midterms. After last year’s very fun but also expensive and adventurous trip to Montreal, I decided to just come home this year. I’ve been really enjoying myself. I left early Wednesday morning and dropped off a friend at the Portland Jetport on my way down 95. (We had a really silly 9 am car ride where we listened to a cappella and swapped our funniest stories).

By noon I was at home, cuddling with my dog, feeling cozy and happy in my house! I was able to see some friends who go to Harvard for coffee and it was so great to hear how wonderful everyone’s semesters were going. Whenever I come home, it’s great to just slip into the swing of things. I have great routines when I’m at home– my favorite drives listening to my favorite cds, my favorite coffee shops, meeting up with the best people who are in the area. Catching up with everyone is definitely a highlight.

Tonight, though, to top off the week, I’m having some friends, Bates grads in fact, over for a big lovely home cooked dinner. Lots of planning has gone into this, and I’m very excited for for it. The food will be DELICIOUS (my father and I raided Whole Foods in preparation), the conversation should prove interesting, and it will be a room full of people that I love — all together! I also baked an apple pie that will be sensational. I can tell.

Back to Bates Sunday– too bad I have a Shakespeare paper that must be written before then!

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

