Parents Weekend Exhaustion

Parents weekend! Always a part of the fall to look forward to, what with seeing family, getting taken out to AMAZING meals, meeting friends’ parents, and seeing all the student work/art/performances that are put on display, parents weekend is definitely a wonderful time. It is also, however, totally exhausting. Here is a run down of my weekend:

My mom and dad were supposed to come up but unfortunately my dad came down with a wicked cold the day before, so he stayed home. Nevertheless, my mom and I had a really lovely time. She came up around 5:15 Friday, and brought me necessities that I’d left at home, like my bean boots and down coat. We then met up with my friend Michelle and went to dinner– at Marche, which is the baby-sister to the always great Lewiston restaurant Fuel. Typically a lunch place, with one dinner on Monday nights, Marche was catering to parents weekend by holding a special 4 course meal on both Friday and Saturday. Okay. So delicious– start with a salad that had goat cheese and grapes, yum! Next course was a lobster and truffle risotto, that was INCREDIBLE albeit a little too rich (and a little too large of a serving considering that the main course came next). There was a choice between halibut and steak for dinner, my mother went fish but Michelle and I both chose steak. It was so wonderful, and came on a mountain of scalloped potatoes with spinach. Is your mouth watering yet? Seriously, just in recounting this meal I’m starting to get hungry and I just ate! Unfortunately, our timing was getting pretty close- we HAD to make it to the a cappella concert, which opened its doors at 7:30  and our dinner plates were cleared around 7:18. When we informed our waitress that we had to jet, and would have to skip dessert, she offered to box it for us!! So, fast forward to later that night when I discovered how delicious chocolate mousse and bacon are together (I admit, I was skeptical… but it was amazing!).

The a cappella concert, always a big event during the weekend, was a little stressful this year; it is always insanely popular and therefore very crowded. This year, due to fire codes, you had to get a ticket so they could count how many people were let in. In dashing away from Marche, I will not pretend that I didn’t RUN down the block towards the Lewiston Middle School where the concert was held. I was NOT missing that concert. We barely made it in, at 7:30 on the dot! Next came the hour of waiting for the concert to start, which was filled with parent introductions and giddy conversations about a cappella. Here may be the time to admit that I am a total a cappella groupie. Though slightly embarrassing, it is just who I am. Even in high school, all of my friends sang a cappella and I listened to all of their cds religiously and attended every single concert. So, it makes sense that at Bates, where there are so many awesome groups, I would be in heaven/totally obsessed. Though in some groups, I definitely missed having the presence of those who graduated, the new members really shined. It was a huge night for the Crosstones, one of the co-ed groups, because they released their CD, Lost and Found. It’s amazing. Seriously. By the time the concert ended, it was almost 10:30 and I said goodnight to my mom and we made plans to meet up the next morning.

Next: 8:45 AM my alarm goes off. In disbelief I stagger out of bed, completely dumbfounded by being awake before 9 on a Saturday. By some miracle, I make it out the door and into my car by 9 and drive out to Hallowell, a town about 40 minutes away where my aunt lives (and my mom was staying). We went to a restaurant there, Slates, and split two breakfast dishes. I love going out to breakfast, seriously, it’s one of my favorite things to do, but I always find myself stuck in the age old decision: protein or  starch?? Eggs are a classic, but sometimes french toast, pancakes or waffles are just what you need. Anyways, to combat this struggle, we split banana almond french toast AND eggs benedict with basil, red onions and goat cheese. Oh my god, it was incredible. After eating, we walked around the picturesque town and poked our heads into some shops.

We headed back to Bates and had a late lunch of thai food with my friend Schuyler. Ever since breakfast I’d been in a total food-coma and the yawning seemed to never stop. Luckily, I don’t think my mom minded (did you? sorry!) The thai iced tea I had gave me a small jolt of energy, enough to send my mom off on her drive home. What happened next? Let’s be honest, I immediately fell asleep and slept soundly for three hours. Schuyler and I grabbed a quick dinner and headed to the Bates Composer’s Society concert, which was a new event and featured student compositions.

My last parent/food experience was this morning, and a classic. Just like last year, my friend Claire’s parents took us to the Pop Shoppe for a good old fashioned diner breakfast. Though it seemed like half of Bates was standing in line, it was worth the wait. My two eggs over easy with cheese, toast, and corned beef hash was so incredibly good that now I might just have to take another food-induced nap.

In summary: great to see my mom, great to eat amazing food… but man, so exhausting! I need another whole weekend to recuperate now.

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

