Busy Bee

Wait, how can it really only be barely two weeks into classes? I feel like this semester is already two months in! I’m so busy (but then again, when am I not?) that trying to get all my work down and go to all my meetings and rehearsals and plan everything seems like a herculean feat!

For now, though, lets focus on one of the many commitments I have going this semester: Fuddy Meers! The student directed show is an independent study that my friend Michelle is directing for her theater minor. I love being in Michelle’s shows (this is my third!) and ever since freshman year, she has been pining to put on the crazy, awesome, full-length show. For an idea of what the plot looks like, check out the wiki. I’m playing the role of Claire, the 40-something amnesiac. It’s an interesting role, unlike any i’ve played before. First of all, the age is one I haven’t even been close to– however, I’ve found that because she wakes up with no memory each morning, in reforming her identity every day, my Claire is able to be youthful and fresh. Then again, who knows, it’s just my take on it!

The cast is really wonderful, we’re having a ball at rehearsals, although it’s kind of scary because we open in about three weeks! Because of the short time line, we have a LOT of rehearsals and the expectation for lines being memorized is sped up to…well..now. A week into rehearsing! (Sorry Michelle! I’m trying! I’ll work on them right now! Hi Michelle! Hi Michelle’s mom!)

So that’s a sliver of the busy schedule that is my life right now. Michelle is keeping a blog for the independent study that can be found here. Read it! I’m sure there’ll be weird photos of me being a 40 year old and generally being a weirdo jumping around the black box…

Other big things this weekend:
-WRBC is bringing DR DOG to Bates Saturday! It’s time for me to step up the publicity ASAP because this afternoon show is sure to be a crowd pleaser, and we want as many people as possible to make it out!
-The Bates Outing Club is having their annual Fall Clam Bake this sunday at Reid State Park! Beach chilling, lobster cookin’, lots of batesies… Always a great time! And, since it’s the BOC’s 90th anniversary the invitation has been extended to alums. Getting up at 8 to go set up should prove… interesting, though, especially the morning after Dr Dog (where I’m sure I’ll be packing up equipment well into the night when the concert ends!)

Lightening update, my head’s all over the place (but do you blame me?) Gotta dash, WRBC board meeting calls!

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

