Southern Escapades

As promised, photos from my wonderful trip to visit my friend Schuyler in her hometown of New Orleans before we both head back to school in a week. All photos taken by the lovely Schuyler.

First thing’s first. Get this girl a po-boy.

We went out to dinner and were over come with our excitement at being together!

There was an awful lot of legacy at that dinner. From left to right, Margaret ’10, Rob players president 09-10, Schuyler ’11, Rob players president 10-11, Taimur ’07, Rob players president 06-07… and me. PRESSSURREEE.

We ate delicious gelato. Schuyler’s was tiramisu!

Mine was sweet cream, I’m a sucker for that flavor.

Schuyler’s parents took us out for an amazing fancy Louisiana dinner at Herbsaint. Because I was visiting New Orleans, I had to try gumbo and WOW what a place I picked to take the plunge. The gumbo of the day had rabbit and sweet sausage in it and was SO GOOD. I will be the first to admit that I am not the most adventurous when it comes to new foods, but I figured I had too. MMMMmmm. The taste was incredible and spicy and delicious. I followed that up with gnocci with pancetta and cherry tomatoes… and for dessert I had a banana butter tart with caramel sauce. I could barely move I was so full at the end. BUT IT WAS SO WORTH IT!

We spent my last day split between traversing the French quarter and running through the aquarium. Here we are sitting in front of the St. Louis Cathedral.

The aquarium was SO COOL. I love aquariums. They are severely under-enjoyed by my age demographic. More people in their twenties should appreciate marine life, they’d live happier lives. This is the amazon rainforest room!

This is a slightly embarrassing photo, that I only post to emphasize how going to the aquarium=having more fun in life. I was trying to synchronize swim with the penguins.

Schuyler made a new friend and his name was MR TERRIFYING. This white alligator was asleep with eyes shut when she sat down, but upon examining the photo his creepy eyes are open! Scary!

Then, we hugged penguins in the gift shop.

And we ended our day eating beignets, the most delicious thing in the entire world. Beignets are only sold at this one cafe in the French Quarter, Cafe Du Monde, who, of course, are famous for the “French doughnut” that is absolutely DOUSED in powdered sugar. As a result, it is impossible to effectively eat a beignet without covering yourself in the white sugary mess and therefore all photos taken are entirely top secret.

Instead, I will post a scene from the Disney movie “The Princess and the Frog” about beignets. This is actually the first place I was introduced to the New Orleans specialty confection, when we watched it during a rainy day at camp earlier in the summer. Though animated, throughout the movie they appear just as delectable as they are in real life, and I was terribly excited when Schuyler took me to the home of the pastry.

Whew. So there you have it. A few days in New Orleans running around, giggling, using funny accents and pretending that I was a Southern Belle. It was just what the doctor ordered post-work, pre-school. Countdown to Bates: ONE WEEK!

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

