Summer So Far

I’ve been terribly MIA so far this summer, with not one good reason, but possible many. I’m about to start week 3 of work, which is Creative Arts summer camp where I run around all day with 8 and 9 year olds, singing, dancing, acting, creating art, and of course splashing around in a pool. Just like last year, I’m feeling very fulfilled but also very drained by the work. This lack of energy for all things after the 4:30 pm dismissal partially explains the gaping hole in my summer blogging. But I digress…

Until work started, I had a very angry, sparse, scary looking empty month. Somehow I filled it with many enjoyable trips, adventures, events and plain old nights spent doing nothing. This summer I’ve spent a lot of time hanging out with some Bates grads (class of 09) who live close by. Their apartment is a very welcome escape most nights, considering that my work situation has me still living at home under the reign of my parents. Through them, I’ve begun to get a taste for a phenomenon that commonly occurs in “the real world,” where groups of people come together to be friends but not from any one reason, for example that they all went to school together. Instead, it’s this person’s friend from high school with that person’s college buddy and my best friend from home. Despite a lack of years and memories, the mishmash of people usually get along and form bonds of their own. I mean, I know that this is the basic concept of friendship here (I have a friend, and you are another friend. I like you and I like my friend. You would like my friend. Etc, etc) but I spent last weekend on Cape Cod with a group just like this, and it was the vibe was fascinatingly one of friendship all around. Bates kids from different class years, friends from high school, friends from college, friend’s friends from college…a true smorgasbord. Anyways, I guess what i’m trying to say is that a)I really enjoy hanging out with all of these old friends and new friends as well as b)it’s cool to get a taste of the future, while still being able to relish in the fact that I have 2 years of school left.

Side note: Please, Boston, STOP WITH THE 90 DEGREE WEATHER!!

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

