So Bates

So last Friday, I did something I really never thought I’d do. Something that is SO BATES, but seemed SO SCARY. Well, guess what, I jumped in the puddle anyway!

The second week of second semester is Winter Carnival, where the Chase Hall Committee and the Bates Outing Club put on tons of sweet events all week long, culminating on  Friday afternoon’s annual dip in frozen Lake Andrews (affectionately known as the Puddle). Last year, my freshman dorm was right next to the Puddle, and I watched eagerly the whole time as my peers jumped in the hole cut in the ice, each looking more crazy than the last! I was wearing coats and scarves and mittens and drinking hot cocoa and could definitely not understand how these people could strip down and dive in. I should have taken advantage of having my own lovely steamy shower a hundred yards away from the icy pond, because let me tell you, Frye street is a LONG, CHILLY, clumsy walk back after all that.

Anyways, this year, I decided to take the plunge, literally, holding 4 or 5 of my friends’ hands so we’d all go in together. I’m so proud to say that I did it! I really do feel like it’s something you HAVE to do while you’re at Bates, and I’m pumped I’ve gotten it out of the way– with photos to prove it!

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

