Hello stage

This past weekend, I had my first performance at Bates this year. I’m on the board of directors for the student theather organization, The Robinson Players, and every fall we put on an “Evening of One Acts”. My show, Sociability, was one of them. It was a lot of fun, working with the cast and a great director, CG Niquette.

The play, written by Charles Disenzo, was a comedy based around two competing couples in the late 1950s-early 196os. Their competition, of course, slowly spins out of control, culminating in a crazy conclusion where clothes are ripped and vases and lamps destroyed.

It was a challenge though, juggling that along with my other responsibilities. I was, for the most part, in two shows for much of production. I’m performing in a play for the directing class next week and having two practices a day, along with lots of school work, was not uncommon for me. But, so it goes. It’s really rewarding when I know that I’ve put on a great show, and it’s something I’m proud of– and that my friends really enjoy as well!

Just about another week or so and then it’s home for a relaxing Thanksgiving break… if only I didn’t have an exam, a term paper, and a show first…

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

