Matt and Kim Fall

Oh. My. Goodness.

WRBC and the CHC are bringing a super amazing wonderful stupendous concert to the Bates college community for the fall big show. Matt and Kim. September 18. SO GREAT. There are two reasons why this concert is going to be so awesome for me, especially in context of my time at Bates.

Reason A: Last summer, as I eagerly awaited “growing up” and coming to Bates for the first time, I discovered that Girltalk, a DJ who is known for his mashups, was playing the big show that fall. I flipped. I had been worried that going up to this little college in MAINE would completely alienate me from the pretty cool music scene that I had grown used to in Boston. However, Girltalk had just released a sick new album so I was totally pumped. Of course, the show was INSANE…I’m so glad that for the second summer in a row the fall concert is just getting me amped to get to school.

Reason B: As I’ve said before, I adore the WRBC. I love having a radio show, I love feeling connected to that part of the Bates community, I love the people involved. As a DJ, you have certain requirements when you do a show, including PSAs, promos for events, and station IDs. You also are required to play 4 “new” songs per show. In the studio, there is a “new” shelf which features new albums that have been sent to the WRBC to be played. Months ago, maybe in October, I picked up Matt and Kim’s cd, Grand. I’d heard a few of their songs before, specifically ‘yea ya,’ and was interested to hear what else they had. Slowly, my Co-DJ and I became totally obsessed with the album, especially the catchy “daylight.” I put it on mix cds, and told all my friends how much I loved it. Clearly others were doing the same thing, because Matt and Kim got really big on campus towards second semester and into short term. Not only campus wide, but all over everyone seemed to be catching the Matt and Kim bug: they’re now featured on a Bacardi commercial.  Anyways, another big thanks to the WRBC (especially the “new” shelf) for turning me onto something awesome and THEN giving me the chance to experience it live.

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

