Tropic Fun’der

The first session of camp ends tomorrow! I can’t believe it’s gone by so quickly. As it is a performing arts camp, we have one big performance at the end of the session where all three age groups perform a play with songs and dances laced around a single theme. This theme: the Jungle. My brother, the drama teacher, was responsible for the terribly cheezy pun that titled the show. My kids did so well! Their elaborate storyline involved Zoo animals escaping from a zoo to vacation in the jungle, only to discover a jungle full of discontented wild beasts looking to be more like domestics. They sang “I wanna be like you” from the jungle book, and performed a dance to “welcome to the jungle”. (The version of the song, however, was original; after realizing that song was totally inappropriate for 8 year olds to dance around to, the staff recorded a new version with new lyrics. So much fun to act like Axl Rose!)

It was the day that I didn’t have to do much– I shuffled them on stage, reminded them to smile, and sprayed “HAZE IN A CAN” right before their big dance number, but their parents had come to see them perform all the things they had been working so hard on all of camp. It was a great thing to see.

I’m totally crushed that most of my campers won’t be back next session– the outgoing boy-twins, the completely silent blonde girl who skips everywhere, the sassy tall dancer who looks way older than she is… I’m sure next session will hold equal campers, but they will always be my first. My favorites.

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

