Job Joy

I love my job. There’s really nothing else to say after finishing the second week other than I just completely adore it. It’s still hard, and I come home and crash afterwards, but I honestly look forward to going to work every day. My kids are 3rd 4th (ish) graders, which is the same age that I volunteered with in Lewiston first semester with Bates Buddies. I love the middle age group! They’re old enough to have common sense but too young for catty dramatics.

It’s great to be working with an awesome group of staff in this kind of work situation, because you can totally SEE results. At the end of the day, you know you’ve been doing you’re job when the kids are having so much fun they don’t want to go home, when camp runs smoothly you feel accomplished, and have fun yourself.

After all, at the end of the day, it is camp: if you’re not having fun, something is wrong.

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

