Work Week

So I finally began working..! My first day was … hard. I’m working at the arts/theater camp that I attended since age 6. I’ve never been a camp counselor before so dealing with fifteen 8 and 9 year olds, shuffling them from art class to music class to dance class to drama class to pool and back again, helping when they fall or when they quarrel, all sorts of things, I wasn’t necessarily used to doing on such a scale. I got caught off guard my first day by a checkout gone slightly awry, however, which really shook me. I actually am the thing keeping the kids going, and keeping them safe. Thats a big thing to get used to.

Each day since, though, has been awesome. I love my campers, they’re the darlings of camp. Speech impediments and pajama days are really what I deal with these days, and I have to say I really love it. These 6 weeks should be fun.

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

