Concerts Continue to Continue/ a joyous reunion

This past weekend, I was able to not only see another great show (with a strange theme of animal names for this season… after Animal Collective and Grizzly Bear now I add Andrew Bird to the list) but also spend the weekend with one of my friends from Bates!

In April, my dad had bought tickets to the concert and I’d asked my friend Kit, who, like me, adores Andrew Bird, if she wanted to come. At that point, it was so far away, almost two months. It didn’t seem important beyond the great experience of seeing him live. However, once school ended, I realized how lucky it was that I already had a planned reunion. Kit took an afternoon train up from Providence on Thursday afternoon and, as I waited in South Station to pick her up, I nervously kept checking when her train got in. Cue dorky movie moment: when I saw her yellow coat walking down the platform I basically ran to the doors and we had a totally cute embrace because I missed her so much.

Friday was spent lazing around initially, but we also ventured to Cambridge to see another one of our friends from Bates, which was, of course, another joyous reunion.

The concert itself was at the Bank of America Pavillion, and I’d never seen a show there before. I had seen Andrew Bird perform two years ago, around the same time, but at the Berklee Performance center, which is a concert-hall sort venue at the Berklee School of Music. We went with my brother and one of his friends, and, as we were about one block away from the tent, I saw a very skinny tall man exit the convenience store to our right and start walking, a little bit ahead, in the same direction we were going. “THATSANDREWBIRD” I tried to nonchalantly pass the message on, but it took a lot of motioning and very aggressive sounding whispering that might as well not be whispering anymore. It was totally sweet to see him in real life!

The show itself, of course, was amazing. Andrew Bird’s shows are always different than his studio albums because he works with his own talents (he’s a classically trained violinist as well as gifted whistler and guitarist) and loops what he plays, to play over it and create layer upon layer of his own sounds. Kit had never seen him in concert before and was almost in awe of how fantastic of a performer he was. Clearly I have been picking the right shows to see this summer, because, AGAIN, the Boston Globe agrees with me. Read the article HERE!

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

