Supersecret

Tonight I was lucky enough to attend a lecture that I never thought I’d be able to see. A website that I’ve been following for the past three years, that I’ve bought books from, that I’ve literally lived Sunday to Sunday waiting for the newest posts, PostSecret, was brought to Bates for a talk by the inspiring and extremely amiable founder Frank Warren.

A very much student spearheaded event, while sponsored mainly by Bates Multifaith Chaplaincy, took co-sponsorship from countless Bates departments and student clubs. Everyone knew that Frank was worth getting– the responses to his lectures by fans in the past clearly made it to be an emotionally stirring event, and that it was.

While I was certainly one of the more eager amongst my friends, pushing us all to get tickets, to get there early, to be quiet when it started, I honestly didn’t really know what to expect. There was so much hype that I admittedly bought into, however I knew only that it would be an emotional, positive experience, but I wasn’t sure HOW it would work.

Frank is a wonderful, friendly man that just exudes trust in a way that you cannot be surprised that he has been called “the most trusted stranger in America.” The talk ended with questions, secret reveals and an all around open forum for audience members to speak up, uncensored. I’m so glad I went.

No, my life wasn’t changed. No, I didn’t cry. But hearing about secrets for an hour from someone who has become an expert on the subjects was wildly comforting, and as we walked back to campus from Lewiston Middle School, my friends starting asking themselves and each other– what secrets did they have?

If you’ve never been before, I promise it will be worth it. Postsecret!

About nbrouder
I'm a senior at Bates College getting ready for thesis and the real world!

Comments are closed.

